Sunday, July 06, 2008

7 Red Sox Chosen as All-Stars

Seven members of the Red Sox were named to the 2008 All-Star Game today, and four of them are starters: Kevin Youkilis, Dustin Pedroia (pictured), Manny Ramirez and David Ortiz. For Youk and Dustin, it's their first time in the Midsummer Classic, and Big Papi will not be in the game due to his injury, but he will be in attendance. (Milton Bradley will take his spot as starting DH.)

The players also voted in on the Red Sox were J.D. Drew and Jason Varitek (a bit of a surprise considering his offensive struggles, but it shows how respected he is among his peers, and how much A.J. Pierzynski is truly dispised). The lone Red Sox pitcher is Jonathan Papelbon, who was also chosen by the players.

Here is the complete list of players going to the game:
AL STARTERS: Joe Mauer (c), Kevin Youkilis (1b), Dustin Pedroia (2b), Derek Jeter (ss), Alex Rodriguez (3b), Manny Ramirez, Ichiro Suzuki, Josh Hamilton (of), David Ortiz (DH).

NL STARTERS: Geovany Soto (c), Lance Berkman (1b), Chase Utley (2b), Hanley Ramirez (ss), Chipper Jones (3b), Ryan Braun, Alfonso Soriano, Kosuke Fukudome (of).

AL PITCHERS: Justin Duchscherer, Roy Halladay, Cliff Lee, Scott Kazmir, Joe Saunders, Ervin Santana, George Sherrill, Joe Nathan, Mariano Rivera, Jonathan Papelbon, Francisco Rodriguez, Joakim Soria.

NL PITCHERS: Carlos Zambrano, Dan Haren, Ryan Dempster, Brandon Webb, Edinson Volquez, Tim Lincecum, Ben Sheets, Billy Wagner, Kerry Wood, Brad Lidge, Brian Wilson.

AL RESERVES: Milton Bradley, Jason Varitek, J.D. Drew, Justin Morneau, Ian Kinsler, Michael Young, Joe Crede, Carlos Quentin, Grady Sizemore (all chosen by the players); Carlos Guillen, Dioner Navarro (chosen by Terry Francona).

NL RESERVES: Russell Martin, Adrian Gonzalez, Dan Uggla, Aramis Ramirez, Miguel Tejada, Matt Holliday, Nate McLouth, Ryan Ludwick (all chosen by the players); Cristian Guzman, Brian McCann, Albert Pujols (selected by Clint Hurdle).

The 32nd Man Vote is:
AL: Jason Giambi, Evan Longoria, Brian Roberts, Jose Guillen, Jermaine Dye.
NL: David Wright, Pat Burrell, Corey Hart, Carlos Lee, Aaron Rowand.

Each winner will be announced Thursday, when the voting concludes.

No comments: