Sunday, July 29, 2007

So How Many Titles Have The Devil Rays Won?

I was watching last night's Red Sox-Devil Rays game from St. Petersburg, a game the Sox won, 12-6 in 12 innings. In the second inning, J.D. Drew was at the plate, when I clearly heard a voice, which I was believe was that idiotic, obnoxious leatherlung who's made a small name for himself with all the moronic yelling he does at opposition players at the Tropicana Dome. (I couldn't for the life of me tell you his name, nor do I care.)

He actually yelled words at the Red Sox to the effect of: "You know the Yankees are going to catch you!" and "You guys always choke!"

I couldn't help but bust out laughing hearing that. So how many times has your team won a championship, buddy? Or better yet, how many times has your team not finished last in their history, pal?

It also reminded me of the time back in 2004 when a group of Devil Rays fans were behind home plate during a Red Sox-Devil Rays game at the Trop and they all held up signs saying, "1918." That was really funny. (And please see the preceeding paragraph for an answer to that.)

I guess being a baseball fan in Tampa Bay, you have to turn your attention away from the team you're rooting for, and try to make yourself feel better, any way you can.


Michael Leggett said...

Contract them!

s1c said...

Uh, fourth place is only slightly better than fifth and they did it once, woo, woo!!1

The Professor said...

only one less that the Red Sox in the last 89 years.

and while we are at it, the Red Sox have won exactly the same number as the D-Backs in the last 89 years and 1 less than the Marlins.

The Omnipotent Q said...

True, and they've one more than the Rangers, Brewers, Astros, Rockies, Padres, Mariners, Giants (in San Francisco) and Nationals. And the same number as the Royals, Diamondbacks, Phillies, Angels, and Braves (in Atlanta).