Friday, November 19, 2010

Pedroia Takes "True Grit" Award

It was really a season that Dustin Pedroia would like to forget in 2010, as he missed the second half due to a foot injury. But he was awarded "The Radbourn Award," a brand new one this year given for the first time to those MLB players that symbolize grit and toughness on the diamond.

The award is named for Charles "Old Hoss" Radbourn, the 19th century pitcher who won an astounding 59 games in 1884 for the Providence Grays. (A new book came out earlier this year about Old Hoss and that season called "Fifty-Nine In '84" by Edward Achorn.) He was elected to Baseball's Hall of Fame in 1939.

Here is the complete list of winners, with one from each position:

P – Tim Lincecum, San Francisco Giants.

C – Ivan Rodriguez, Washington Nationals.

1B – Albert Pujols, St. Louis Cardinals.

2B – Dustin Pedroia, Boston Red Sox.

3B – Evan Longoria, Tampa Bay Rays.

SS – Derek Jeter, New York Yankees. (What, another award for Captain Intangibles?)

LF – Ryan Braun, Milwaukee Brewers.

CF – Josh Hamilton, Texas Rangers.

RF – Ichiro Suzuki, Seattle Mariners.

No comments: